Select Page

Coronavirus Travel Restrictions Extended- Republic of Korea Included and Enhanced Screening for Italy

by | Mar 7, 2020 | Migration

A joint media releases by the Prime Minister, Minister for Foreign Affairs and the Health Minister has announced that the COVID-19 travel ban has been extended to the Republic of Korea from today 5 March 2020. The travel restrictions for the Republic of Korea will now be consistent with those in place for China and Iran.

The Federal Government has also introduced enhanced health screening and temperature testing arrangements for arrivals from Italy. As of 5 March 2020:

  • Foreign nationals (excluding permanent residents of Australia) who are in the Republic of Korea on or after today will not be allowed to enter Australia for 14 days from the time they have left or transited through the Republic of Korea;
  • Australian citizens and permanent residents will still be able to enter Australia, as will their immediate family members (spouses, legal guardians or dependants only). They will be required to self-isolate at home for 14 days from the day they left the Republic of Korea.
  • The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade will raise the level of the travel advisory for the Republic of Korea to ‘reconsider your need to travel’ (level 3 of 4) up from ‘exercise a high degree of caution’ (level 2).
  • The level of the travel advice will also be raised to ‘do not travel’ to Daegu (level 4 of 4) because of the significant outbreak of COVID-19 there. People in the Republic of Korea should monitor their health closely and follow the advice of local authorities.

Please Contact Nevett Ford Lawyers Melbourne Today for Advice and Assistance.

?: +61 3 9614 7111

?: melbourne@nevettford.com.au